Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Anna tutors in Portland, OR

Anna K.

Private tutor in Portland, OR

Anna K.41

1 review

Education

Bachelor of Social Work from George Fox University, 2009, GPA 3.93

Experience

I have always been an ardent learner who didn't want to give up or go with an explanation. I always wanted to know more. As a result of my hard work as a young scholar I earned a 4 and a 5 respectively on the AP Chemistry and Calculus tests. I also received scholarships throughout college for academic excellence. After graduating college I worked for several years as an instructional/ behavioral assistant in a specialized behavior classroom in the Oregon City School District. I am now an ELD (english language development) assistant for Fern Hill Elementary School in the Forest Grove School District. I taught an after school club and I have interpreted (Spanish/English) for both districts. I have experience teaching with several different reading curriculums at the elementary level: Read Well, Road to the Code and Reading Mastery. I have taught math groups and reading groups at the elementary through middle school levels. I am also very comfortable working with high school and college students. I have a years experience working with high school students in chemistry and Spanish. I am familiar with the challenges and demands of higher level academics and I know how key it is to really understand a concept and be able to apply it. Understanding, learning and mastering new material is very rewarding and it builds your confidence for your career path. I would be glad to help you or your children achieve a thorough understanding of the material you/they are learning!

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I enjoy people and teaching, I like languages, music, math and science. I actually miss school and am glad to have the opportunity to encourage others in their studies and help them learn. In my free time I enjoy exploring the outdoors- whether its hiking, skiing, SUPing, camping, swimming, or my newest love, bouldering- I can't get enough of the beauty of nature :) I like to dance a lot- anything from swing, waltz, folk to latin and blues. I really enjoy trying new things- keep learning and growing :)

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!