Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jeffrey tutors in Portland, OR

Jeffrey B.

Private tutor in Portland, OR

5Jeffrey B.

75 reviews

Education

Whitman College - BA, Theatre (Dramatic Literature) , University of Durham, UK - PhD, History

Experience

I attended Whitman University as an undergrad before I moved on to PSU and the University of Durham in the UK, where I worked on my PhD. Currently, I hold a doctorate in modern history and a master's in teaching. I love teaching about a variety of subjects. However, humanities, literature, and history are three of my favorites. I am an expert in American and European history, political history, and military history, and I have many hobbies that focus on these subjects. Besides my education experience, I am fluent in both Latin and French. I am a firm believer that being bilingual in today's world is a necessity. Beyond knowing these languages quite well, I also dedicate some of my time teaching others these languages. I have tutored high school and college aged individuals in Latin and French. I also have taught the languages professionally in a classroom setting. My teaching and tutoring style is pretty uncomplicated. I assess a student's ability and then map out the proper method of teaching that student. When I am not working with others, I enjoy spending time outdoors with nature. My hobbies include camping, hiking, fishing, and trekking trails. Although I do love the city, I much prefer being out in the wilderness appreciating all the beautiful sights.  

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

15 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Mountaineering, Backpacking, Wilderness First Aid / Survival, Fishing, Reading and Music

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!