Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Kaiwen  tutors in Portland, OR

Kaiwen L.

Private tutor in Portland, OR

5Kaiwen L.

18 reviews

Education

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities - BA, Math (with Teaching Specialization), Psychology , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - MS, Math (with Teaching Emphasis)

Experience

I earned my bachelor's degree in mathematics and psychology with a focus in education at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. I continued my education and earned a master's degree in the Teaching of Mathematics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. I am currently a professor at Portland Community College, where I teach Algebra. I love education and teaching others, which I discovered while working as a tutor during my undergraduate education. Since that time, I have also worked as a student teacher at several high schools around the Minneapolis-St. Paul area. I also tutored throughout graduate school, helping my peers in mathematics classes that they found difficult. My psychology background gives me theoretical knowledge about education, so I am able to develop effective, enriching curricula for all age groups. Everyone has the ability to learn new things! It is just a matter of finding the correct motivation and method to help students engage with the material. I have designed college-level math classes as well as grade school enrichment groups for math students. As a tutor, I can help students ranging from middle schoolers through college seniors with math like Calculus, Algebra, and Geometry, and can tutor these courses at the IB- and AP-level, too. I enjoy helping students prepare for the math portions of standardized tests like the SAT, ACT, and GRE, and I can also help students improve their Mandarin Chinese.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading, traveling

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!