Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Elizabeth tutors in Portland, OR

Elizabeth S.

Private tutor in Portland, OR

Education

University of Iowa - Bachelors, English , University of South Dakota - PHD, English

Experience

I am available to help with English, essay editing, grammar and mechanics, college essays, graduate test prep, reading, writing, GRE analytical and verbal, and study skills. My favorite subject to tutor is creative writing. It is rewarding to see people play with the language and use their imaginations. My tutoring style includes using different techniques to explain concepts. I am a very detail-oriented person, which makes me an excellent tutor.I have an extensive academic background. In 1991, I earned my bachelor's degree in English, minoring in French. In 1994, I graduated from Washington University with my MFAW in Creative Writing, focusing on Poetry. Then in 2011, I earned my PhD in English, with a creative writing emphasis at the University of South Dakota. Aside from those degrees, I also have my ABD in twentieth-century American Literature and twentieth-century British Literature from the University of South Carolina. I have over eighteen years of experience working as a literature and writing teacher at the post-secondary level. Additionally, I have worked in writing centers, and been an online tutor for more than ten years. I have also worked at the Grammar Hotline for the University of South Carolina. I was also a Director of the Writing Center at Scott Community College. I have many hobbies. In my spare time, I can be found indulging in a good book, writing poetry, enjoying music, and taking in movies. I also love to cook and bake, hike, mushroom hunt, pick berries, and volunteer.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

hiking, reading, writing, volunteering

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!