Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Marilyn tutors in Portland, OR

Marilyn C.

Private tutor in Portland, OR

Marilyn C.545

45 reviews

Education

Reed College - Bachelors, Classics

Experience

I graduated from Reed College in Portland, Oregon, where I earned a bachelor's degree in classics. Although I'm from New York City, I love the landscape and community of the Pacific Northwest and have remained in Portland. My tutoring experience began in high school, where I was a peer tutor, and continued in college. The subjects I have tutored include math, English, reading and writing, humanities, Latin, and Attic Greek. In addition, I have five years of experience teaching Jewish studies and basic Hebrew at a Hebrew School. I believe that, if given the proper tools, all students can achieve their academic goals. My own goal is helping students attain mastery of their subjects so they can apply their knowledge to new questions and problems.I'm available to tutor French 1-4, Latin 1-4, Hebrew, pre-algebra, algebra, trigonometry, arithmetic, pre-calculus, calculus, biology, chemistry, astronomy, American and European history, reading, writing, grammar and mechanics, phonics, literature, and religious studies. I can also help students prepare for standardized exams such as the GED, PSAT, and SAT, as well as help students with college admission essays.In my spare time, I like to hike with my husky, cook vegan treats, read, and travel. I recently traveled to Italy, and am currently planning a trip to Antarctica.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Hiking with my dog, swimming, cooking or baking delicious vegan treats, and reading as many books as I can get my hands on.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!